Greetings from a complete noob

• My story:

I had never watched VB until the Rio Olympics. I was staying with a Chinese friend over the summer and she wanted to watch the Chinese NT. Needless to say, the dramatic arc for her over those few weeks was pretty intense. I watched a bunch of matches with her and wasn't excited about it all until I saw the Japan v Russia match. It was different. The Japanese team is an ant farm. Tiny, efficient, tireless. I fell in love with them. If I didn't look at the scoreboard I would have thought the Japanese won the match instead of being swept 3-0. I described it as being like watching a slumber party punctuated with violence. The match also had a sense of humor, the Russians respectfully mocking my little ones with smiles that said "What's it going to take to make these kids give up."

So I can't say I'm a Volleyball fan yet, but I want to consume as much of the Japanese Women's NT as I can. I enjoy watching them play Russia, Brazil, and Serbia. I like a few players on each of those three teams but haven't mustered any interest in watching them play anyone but Japan. I have peculiar requirements when it comes to sports enthusiasm and the JWNT fulfills them all. When they make a successful attack or block their reaction is one of joy, not like a testosterone bomb just went off. I've watched 20 or more matches from 2012-2016 and I have never once seen a player (or their Zen master coach) express frustration, disappointment, or anger at a fellow team mate, or with themselves for that matter. That's important to me. There's one team, who shall remain nameless so I don't offend, whose coach reduced his players to tears, getting in their faces like a Baseball manager does with an umpire. I will never watch that team play again.