Nancy Metcalf

• When, where and why did you start to play volleyball? That's something you have ever dreamed of?
    I started playing volleyball at the age of 14, for my school team. I played because most girls in my school played (there were only 14 girls my age in my class at my school). I liked playing volleyball, but swimming was the sport I loved. I had been swimming with a competitive team for 4 years, and thought that was the sport I would continue in. However, my high school didn't have a competitive team, so I continued playing volleyball and basketball there. By the time I finished high school, I loved the sport, and found out I could pay for my college education by playing a sport I loved!

When did you realize volleyball could be a job for you?
    I never really saw volleyball as something that would be a job for me. I thought after college if I could play for a couple of years and earn some money, that would be about all I could do. That was 7 years ago, and I am still loving playing. To think that I've been able to earn a living from it still surprises me sometimes!

A lot of coaches say that it’s hard to set up the block for a left-handed player. What’s your opinion on that? Do you think that being left-handed brings some advantage when you’re going to attack?
    I think most good teams have faced a left-handed player pretty regularly, so most players are able to adjust for blocking me to be in the right position, so I don't think it's much of an advantage that way.

This years you'll be 30. Can you make an assessment of your career?