Heather Bown

• When, where and why did you start to play volleyball? That's something you have ever dreamed of? What's your best volleyball memory?
    I was 15 years old when I started playing volleyball it was my third year in high school, I had been a swimmer till then. I never really thought about volleyball as a sport, but when I began playing I began getting letters to play at different colleges and it was very appealing to me to be able to go play a sport I found fun and learn at a university. My best volleyball memory… that would have to be all the memories I have had over the past years with my different teams. Can not say I have just one, but I guess if I had to pick….going to my first Olympics with the national team. It was an awesome experience and something I will never forget.

Your story about how you started to play is a little crazy... When did you realize volleyball could be a job for you? Do you think you're a lucky girl?
    I am a very fortunate person. Volleyball has given me so many wonderful experiences in life. Anyone that has the opportunity to play a sport and travel the world is lucky. I don’t know if I have ever viewed volleyball as a job. I think that would take all the fun away from it. I still have so much fun playing every year no matter what team I am on I look to enjoy myself. Playing the game is the only time I am truly happy.

This years you'll be 30. Can you make an assessment of your career?
    Ha…30…my career is right where it should be. I am not looking to be here forever so I just try to enjoy what I do and play as well as I can and help the team I am on be its best. I know my body will not allow me to play forever, but till it tells me stop I am gonna be here laughing and enjoying myself.

Jesi was having problems with strong teams, but now it seems that it got in the "right way". What changed in the team (that made this "turnaround" possible) and what are the chances of Jesi in the championship?