Wytze Kooistra

• When, where and why did you start to play volleyball?
    I started playing volleyball when I had 8 years. I lived in Sleen (Holland) at the time so I started playing volleyball at V.V. Sleen. I started volleyball because I couldn't choose between tennis/basketball and volleyball. My brother chose volleyball at that time and so I also decided to play volleyball.

Which is the most important victory and the worst defeat of your career?
    One time I played the semi-final play-offs in Holland and in the best-of-five serie we were behind 2-0 and in the third match we were also 2-0 behind and 19-11 in the third set. Than the coach gave me the opportunity to come in together with a new setter we played really good after this and we won the set/match/serie and championship in the end so this made quite some impression to me. For sure I had more nice matches especially in Italy but not as extreme as this one in Holland. The worst defeat I had with Rome, both times for the Coppa Italia we made it till the final but we lost badly 3-0. With the national team we didn't have such extremities till now.

Which are the best skills of your team?
    Currently we have a with our National team great attacking/serve potential. We have a young group and play quite good tactically.

Which National Team or club do you like the most for the way they are playing? (you cannot name your own NT or club)
    I like of course the way Brazil plays it is an organized team with much speed.

What country, of those where you played you memorized most of all and why?
    I liked always the tournament in Olstzyn, the Hubert Wagner memorial. Hopefully we join again next year. There are always lots of people and they like us also to come there. Furthermore the Polish journalist know what they are talking about and are very interested.

Do you have any pre-match ritual?
    Not so much because I don't want it to influence my play if I'm not able to prepare in that particular way.