Debby Stam

• When, where and why did you start to play volleyball?
    I was 7 when I started playing volleyball, that was at VV Zaanstad. My parents wanted me to play a teamsport. They let me decide what sport it will be, and because my mother played volleyball already, I wanted to play as well.

What would you have done if you hadn't volleyball player?
    I have a passion for fashion. So maybe I will be a visagist, stylist or a photographer!

The most important success and the biggest defeat in you career?
    The most important success for me and my team was winning the WGP 07.
    The biggest defeat was ofcourse that we didn’t qualified for the Olympic Games

What do you like the most in volleyball?
    Actually I like every part of volleyball. Maybe I like the most to play quick and tricky combinations!

What is your main motivation which makes you fight on court?
    I always want to be the best and I don’t like to loose… Do I have to say more?

What are your weak and strong points?
    I think my strongest point are defence, reception and service.
    On the other effors I think I can still improve a lot.

In your opinion, who is the best player playing on your position?
    Lioubov Sokolova

What was the main reason, why you decided to accept the proposition from Russian club?
    Belgorod showed a lot of interest from the beginning. They were very enthousiastic about me and that gave me a very good feeling.

Remember WGP2007. What was your first thought after you realized that your team had become the best in the world?
    In the beginning I didn’t realised it. But later I was so happy that we showed everybody that we can play such a high level. And that our project really worked and made us a really strong team!

Did something change in people attitude toward to your team after winning WGP2007? Had you started to feel increased pressure and responsibility?