Anna Podolec

• Position: Opp/OH
    Height: 193 cm
    Bitrh Date: 30/10/1985
    Club: Asystel Novara

When did you start playing volleyball and why did you choose this sport?
    I started playing volleyball or actually I started learning to play in the fourth grade in the primary school. When I was 11 I played with my sister who trained volleyball and I often watched her. I liked it and I wanted to try it too so I started playing in the second league in Łancut. I played there for some time and at the age of 15 I decided to move to the School of Sport Championship in Sosnowiec where I spent 3 years. When I attended this school, I played for a national youth and junior team. In the last grade I passed school-leaving exams and decided to move to Bielsko. This is when I started playing in a professional league and then I started my career as a professional.

What was the biggest succeed and the worst defeat in your sport career?
    My biggest success was participation in the Olympic Games which was my biggest dream. But also the biggest success is every medal I get on various championships. And the worst defeat… every lost match. But I did not have one single defeat that would discourage me from playing. Every defeat motivates me to work more.

How do you asses the season spent in the Russian league?
    The season in the Russian league was very difficult especially because the teams were very demanding. This is a very good league where every team plays very well and no opponent is poor. The season was very tiring also due to the fact that we had to go on long journeys. In Italy a six-hour journey is the longest one as in Russia it is one of the shortest journey. I also gained a lot of experience in the Russian league since it is really difficult to play against tall opponents. I learnt a lot in Russia and I am happy that I played there.

After playing for a year in Russia, you moved to Italy. How would you compare these two leagues?