Maja Poljak: I believe we can beat any team in Italy right now

• http://www.voleybolunsesi.com

At what age and how did you start volleyball?
    I started playing volleyball when I was twelve in Zagreb. I was always in the sports surrounding because my father was a former basketball player and then a coach. In that year, European Champions League Final Four was organized in Zagreb. I saw great matches and fell in love with volleyball. I started practicing right after.

Croatian National Team scored amazing achievements at the end of 90’s. Especially we see three consecutive silver medals in the European Championship from 1995 to 1999. You participate in the Sydney Olympics and hold the 6th place in the World Championship. What do you think are the reasons for such important success?
    Yes, those years were definitely great. Our national team as well as our club teams had great success. The Croatian league was much stronger back then. But most importantly we had Barbara (Jelic-Ruzic) in our team. She was the queen of volleyball back then. I think that was the biggest reason we had so much of success.

When you were 16, you have become part of the team that notched the silver medal at the 1999 European Championship. What did participating in that generation’s team contribute to you?
    Well, like you said, I was only 16. I was just a little girl just starting to play at high level of volleyball so I did not play much. But it was definitely a great experience to be part of such a successful generation. I was really happy and enthusiastic and all those other feelings that come along with big wins.

For the last few years, Croatia has been far away from its past glory days. Indeed your team consists of players who have amazing individual talents. What do you think is the reason for such average results?