Reid Priddy: “I think I can help Halkbank”

• by Murat Colakoglu

-First of all, let’s start with a classical question: How did you start volleyball?
    I started playing volleyball when I was 15 years old. There were several sports activities at school. We played all the sports but when I played volleyball, I realized that there was something special about it. So I decided to try out for the school team. After playing, I enjoyed it very much.

-Then you have your first official champion title at high school in Arizona.
    Yeah, I was 17. It was the year before I graduated. We won the state championship that year.

-Then at Loyola Marymount University in California, you become the first All-American in school history and you gain several honors there. Can we call those honors as the first demonstrative signals of a future legend?
    I would say that I was late to the game. Even though I was having that success, I didn’t completely understand or know where volleyball was going to take me. I just knew that I loved to play and that I continued to be better. So I think that’s what’s always driving me: the desire to get better.

-Did the people you looked up to while you were growing up or the ones you were playing with start playing at a younger age than you did?
    One of the problems with volleyball in America is that there is not a lot of exposure. It is difficult to look up to somebody playing because you don’t see great players playing. Of course, when I was playing my peers would be the ones I would want to emulate. But as soon as I was exposed to the highest level of volleyball, around the times I debuted in the national team or my first year in Italy, then it became a new target when I started to see the greatest players of the game.

-Your debut to the senior national team comes at 1999 Pan American Games. Then you took part in the group that trained for Sydney but you did not end up there. Could you please tell us a bit about that process?