Michael Olieman

• When, where and why did you start to play volleyball?
    I started playing volleyball at the age of 7. I was kind of sucked into it because of my family and whole home town were volleyball crazy. The club I started was called Rentokil/ZVH, but that club is now called Nesselande.

What would you have done if you hadn't volleyball player?
    If I never would've played volleyball, I probably just did a study and work somewere. Problem was I never had a clue what direction I wanted to go with that, so I'm really lucky I can play volleyball for the next couple of years!

What do you like the most in volleyball?
    What I like the most in volleyball is the fact that its a team effort that always prevails. No matter how good 1 player is, you all have to be good in a team to play well and win matches. Also last year in Verona I loved the passion of the fans during the matches. We had a minimum of 2500 people every home match, so that was awesome!

What is your most memorable volleyball moment?
    My most memorable volleyball moment was probably our win n the European League in 2006. It was our first season with our National team in a new formation and new head coach, and we won all the matches that season. So it was great to crown your work with a prize like that.

What are your weak and strong points?
    My biggest weak point is my defence. Thats mainly because my footwork isn't good enough yet, so thats a big improvement point for me in the future. My strong points are my attack and service. I naturally have a strong and flexible shoulder so I can hit hard but also big angles. Still, nothing in my game is good enough for my liking, so I'm going to practice every aspect of my game to improve as much as I can.

In your opinion, who is the best player playing on your position?