Frederic Winters

• When, where and why did you start to play volleyball?
    I started playing club volleyball when i was in the ninth grade in Victoria BC Canada. I started to play volleyball because it was a fun sport for me, and lots of my friends were playing.

What is your experience to play in Russia?
    My experience playing in Russia is different from any other place i've played...it takes a lot of determintaion and strong will power to play there....you have to a be a professional in every way and in some ways much stronger mentally than if you were playing in Europe.

How is general (volleyball) situation in Canada?
    The situation of volleyball in Canada is on the rise....Our youth teams usually do fairly well in world competitions and we have some strong young players coming up. We are about to move our training center to Ottawa Ontario, our nations capital city so that is exciting and we will have a better facility to train in. Also with the recent hiring of our coach Glenn Hoag we have seen a turnaround in every aspect of our team game. Althought volleyball is still not a popular sport in Canada, we are producing some great players that are doing great things overseas!

What is your most memorable volleyball moment?
    I don't have a most memorable moment in volleyball so far. I'm hoping to make some great memories in the years to come. I guess if i had to say my most memorable moment, i would have to pick signing my contracts.....it's always very exciting to sign a contract to play a sport that you love. It's still surreal to me that i can play volleyball and get paid doing it.....i still ponder that thought every day and i'm thankful for how lucky i am to be able to do that!

What are your weak and strong points?