Bojana Doganjic- Azerbaijan Superleague is getting stronger

• Bojana Doganjic- I never could have imagined that one day I’ll be playing volleyball in Azerbaijan

In the wake of the Rabita's successful run in the championship and the CEV Cup, the team captain and the winner of the Most Valuable Player award Bojana Doganjic sat with Azerivolley editor Ilgar and kindly answered our questions.

Hello, Bojana. Please, tell us something about yourself. Tell us how you started your career in volleyball. Was there anyone in your family that inspired you?

I was born on April 15 in Serbia and started playing sports at an early age. When I was 8 years old, my sister and I started playing handball, and my mom, who was among the best handball players in Yugoslavia back in the day, was obviously very happy with the choice we made. Four years later, however, my sister and I we quit handball and started playing volleyball, to the delight of our father who happened to be a former volleyball player himself. I have to say that throughout our careers we always had our parents’ support. My sister is Aleksandra Rankovic, a former Serbian international, she was a member of the Serbian national team that won bronze medals at the 2006 World Championship in Japan.

Where did you start your professional carrier?

I started playing volleyball in my hometown of Obrenovac. We had a team there called "TENT" and it was very well known for having one of the best volleyball schools. I played there in all age categories and went on to captain the senior team for couple of years.

Let’s talk about the national team. How long did you play for the Serbian national team and what can you say about it?