Things a setter can and cannot do?
When I read the rules (which I'm admittedly not good at), I believe this is true:
- If a setter starts a play in the back row she is prohibited from doing a set dump, blocking, or attacking an overpass.
I assume the setter must adhere to rules pertaining to any back row player with regards to attacking--which is sending the ball in the direction of the opponent--and touching the ball when it's completely higher than the net. The blocking prohibition is less clear but I think it's a no-no.
- What about if she starts the play in the back row, comes to the front to set the ball, does a jump set and touches the ball before any part of the ball has gotten lower than the top of the net?
That seems unfair to Russians and other tall people. Who is in a position to make a call on that?
Background on why I'm asking:
There was a recent Korean Kerfuffle where a ref's decision was reviewed and he was fined for making a bad call. Here's a screen shot of the critical moment but don't try and judge anything from this angle. I only post it for a visual reference. The ref called Su-ji (in blue, on the left) for a reaching foul.
It's not clear to me if the review committee said:
- "No, the correct call is that Hye-Jin (in white on the right) committed a net fault"
Or did they say:
- "Since Hye-Jin started the play in the back row she's got no business touching the ball above the net like that"
That is the question. Can a setter who started in the back row touch the ball above the net as Hye-Jin is doing in the screen shot above as long as it isn't an attack?
You can watch the play here--it's queued up: 2:29:17