The Rules - your opinion, suggestion

  • Things a setter can and cannot do?

    When I read the rules (which I'm admittedly not good at), I believe this is true:

    1. If a setter starts a play in the back row she is prohibited from doing a set dump, blocking, or attacking an overpass.

    I assume the setter must adhere to rules pertaining to any back row player with regards to attacking--which is sending the ball in the direction of the opponent--and touching the ball when it's completely higher than the net. The blocking prohibition is less clear but I think it's a no-no.

    • What about if she starts the play in the back row, comes to the front to set the ball, does a jump set and touches the ball before any part of the ball has gotten lower than the top of the net?

    That seems unfair to Russians and other tall people. Who is in a position to make a call on that?


    Background on why I'm asking:


    There was a recent Korean Kerfuffle where a ref's decision was reviewed and he was fined for making a bad call. Here's a screen shot of the critical moment but don't try and judge anything from this angle. I only post it for a visual reference. The ref called Su-ji (in blue, on the left) for a reaching foul.


    It's not clear to me if the review committee said:

    • "No, the correct call is that Hye-Jin (in white on the right) committed a net fault"

    Or did they say:

    • "Since Hye-Jin started the play in the back row she's got no business touching the ball above the net like that"

    That is the question. Can a setter who started in the back row touch the ball above the net as Hye-Jin is doing in the screen shot above as long as it isn't an attack?





    You can watch the play here--it's queued up: 2:29:17

  • That is the question. Can a setter who started in the back row touch the ball above the net as Hye-Jin is doing in the screen shot above as long as it isn't an attack?

    Yes she can, only attacking and blocking is not allowed. The call you refer to was saying that the block player was reaching over the net, i.e. interfering with the (legal) set. I have no idea why the referee would be fined for that because he can surely call it in this situation. Maybe whoever reviewed it said that the ball was right over the middle of the net, so both players were allowed to play at and he shouldn't have interfered at all. Another referee might as well have decided against the setter for reaching over the net, those situations always are very close and hard to decide.

  • Maybe whoever reviewed it said that the ball was right over the middle of the net, so both players were allowed to play at and he shouldn't have interfered at all.

    Thanks. I hadn't thought of that angle. That would have been the best call, as the ball was still playable.


    It turned out kind of tragic for Su-ji's team who went on to lose after being up 12-9, 13-10 in the Tie-Break, with strong impact on their race down the final stretch of the season.


    Sometimes when you get stirred up you forget how to finish