The 2010 AVC Eastern Volleyball Championship

  • Hosts Korea and Chinese Taipei grabbed the men’s and women’s gold medals respectively at the 2010 AVC Eastern Volleyball Championship in Incheon on Wednesday.

    The men’s edition drew a total six teams from Korea, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Hong Kong, Mongolia and Macao. After the six-day round-robin contest, which started on December, Korea finished on top with a perfect record, not dropping a set throughout.

    Chinese Taipei men's team came second following a tricky opening encounter with Japan. They went down in in the first two sets before rallying back to clinch the win in the tiebreaker 15-13. But the third day saw them go down in straight sets to eventual champions Korea and they had to settle for silver, followed by Japan, Hong Kong, Mongolia and Macao.

    In the women’s tournament, Chinese Taipei grabbed gold after beating hosts Korea 3-1 (19-25, 25-22, 25-20, 25-14) while Japan defeated Mongolia 3-0 (25-12, 25-15, 25-20) to finish third.

    A total of seven teams participated in the women’s competition. Korea, Mongolia, Macao and Buryat (an invited team) played against each other in Pool A while Chinese Taipei, Japan and Hong Kong were in Pool B, with the top two squads entering the medal round.

    In the preliminary round, Korea clinched three wins and no losses, finishing first in Pool A with Mongolia following in second. In Pool B, Chinese Taipei beat Japan and Hong Kong in straight sets to top Pool B.

    In the semifinals, Chinese Taipei defeated Mongolia 3-0 (25-20, 25-11, 25-19) to set up a final showdown with hosts Korea who beat Japan 3-1 (25-22, 26-24, 22-25, 25-17).