Lindsey Napela Berg: “I always wanted to play here”

• Source: Voleybolunsesi.com

First of all, let’s start with a classical question: How did you start volleyball?
    I have been playing since I was 7 or 8 years old. Born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii. Volleyball was a really popular sport there. My father played volleyball and he was a volleyball coach. I just started playing really young and never stopped.

Did you try to emulate your father while you were growing up?
    Not really. My sister also played volleyball. He put no pressure on us. It was just something that we really loved to do. He was so supportive and so helpful that we wanted to continue. Bu he never wanted to pressure us into doing it.

Coming from a sports family, you turn out to be a really good volleyball player at the University of Minnesota. You were part of All Big Ten team for three consecutive years. How did that help you before you went on to become a professional volleyball player?
    I think every step in my career has helped me and not one more than the other. Even from being young and playing for hours and hours in the gym to then playing in high school, to then going to college, to then going to the national team… Every step in the way has been important and growing. I don’t think that college was one of the biggest steps by any means. It just is what we do America before becoming a successful athlete. I had a great time there but definitely it was not one of my best volleyball years in my life. I grew up to be the volleyball player that I am after college – playing internationally, playing with the best people in the world, playing in Italy for 7 seasons, playing in Olympics in 3 times. This is how I came to be the best volleyball player that I am.

Just out of curiosity, how did you decide to be a setter? Or why did your coach guide you so in that direction? Were you a good leader or did you have some other specific qualities?