2019 FIVB Women's Volleyball Nations League

  • Yes, it is 2019 now and ranking consists of WGP '17 , OG '16, WCH '18 and WC '15 :olympia:

    Ranking system has been 4 year range for a while like 15 years. Since taking out the Continental Championships results this has been the system. In the past rankings had reduced percentage values each year, but since London 2012 everything is 100%.

    VNL results will probably be included this year, minus WGP.

  • Ranking system has been 4 year range for a while like 15 years. Since taking out the Continental Championships results this has been the system. In the past rankings had reduced percentage values each year, but since London 2012 everything is 100%.

    VNL results will probably be included this year, minus WGP.

    But this was different story back then.


    For this year WC '19 won't count (as states fivb) and VNL as well (at least still no news on it). So next ranking will be just OG + WCH (WTH !?!?) which is just 2 competition..............................

  • by 2025 FIVB will probably just stop counting... Forever. :gone:


    No need to sugar-talk this trash system, there is not 1 good thing about it. That it has been going for 15 years only makes it worse.

  • But this was different story back then.


    For this year WC '19 won't count (as states fivb) and VNL as well (at least still no news on it). So next ranking will be just OG + WCH (WTH !?!?) which is just 2 competition..............................

    Are you sure? Can you provide the link? I thought this year's WC would still count in terms of ranking points, just not as the Olympics qualifier.

  • Morrison said WC is their main goal after Olympic qualification, because they will get more points for the ranking if they get a good result at the WC than at ECH.

  • What an annoying arrogance by the referee! He called that Stigrot interfered with the Chinese set, and since there is no challenge for that, Koslowski challenged net touch. The video clearly showed that Stigrot didn't touch the ball nor Ding's hand, so the referee's call was wrong, but since Ding didn't touch the net, it was a lost challenge and the referee stayed with his initial call and made a total fool of himself :wall::wall::wall:

  • I don't know about FIVB, but in Italy if the referee, while watching a video check, catches a different fault from the one the challenge was called, HAS to acknowledge it...

  • What an annoying arrogance by the referee! He called that Stigrot interfered with the Chinese set, and since there is no challenge for that, Koslowski challenged net touch. The video clearly showed that Stigrot didn't touch the ball nor Ding's hand, so the referee's call was wrong, but since Ding didn't touch the net, it was a lost challenge and the referee stayed with his initial call and made a total fool of himself :wall::wall::wall:

    Totally agree. This is similar situation as in men's VNL last week. Referee doesn't feel any shame that he made wrong decision. Honestly, this kind of challenge should be allowed as well. If not, referees should be punished for their wrong calls.

  • Easy 3-0 for the Netherlands over Thailand. Good game by Lohuis, definitely the third middle blocker for the Netherlands and the best substitute for either Beliën or de Kruijf when needed. Also Sloëtjes played a better match today!

  • only saw a little bit of the 3rd set of NED x THA. so sad to see THA golden generation reduced to this... only last year, they took US and RUS to 5 sets at the WCh... the girls are really getting old (pleumjit, nootsara, onuma, malika, wilavan)...

  • referees can be so stupid, it's true, but at least now there's a challenge system. the type of call that really annoys me is the overreach, some refs will call it by 1 cm, and others don't. so it's still arbitrary and there's no hawkeye for that.

  • referees can be so stupid, it's true, but at least now there's a challenge system. the type of call that really annoys me is the overreach, some refs will call it by 1 cm, and others don't. so it's still arbitrary and there's no hawkeye for that.

    Yeah but if the replay shows that the player touched neither the ball nor the hand, it's simply a wrong call.