Natavan Gasimova-Azerbaijan's own Lo Bianco!

• Natavan Gasimova is one of the most talented Azerbaijani young volleyball players. She has been a member of Azerrail Baku and of Azerbaijani national team since 2003 and she is probably one of the finest discoveries made by national team head coach Faig Garayev. With her fast and versatile game she is quickly becoming a fan favorite so it is high time to get to know her better.

Hi, Natavan! Please, tell us something about yourself.

I was born on July 8th, 1985 in Nakhchivan. I finished school there and that's where I started playing volleyball. I became a member of Azerrail volleyball club and of the national team in 2003 and I have been representing my club and country ever since. I have loved playing sports ever since I was a child, but to tell you the truth, I never imagined that someday I would be doing it professionally.

So, what brought you to volleyball?

It happened by accident. We were playing volleyball at school and apparently coach Vugar Aliyev was watching our game. We didn’t know anything about it. Later, I received an offer to move to Baku to play here professionally. So, although I didn’t start playing professionally till I was 16 years old, I always had faith in myself and I believed that I can do it.

Wasn’t it too hard to pick up volleyball at such late age?

Of course it is much better if an athlete starts playing sports early, but I cannot say that it was that much difficult for me. I did work hard and my coaches and my teammates helped me a lot along the way, and I think I proved one more time that it is never too late to start anything as long as you do it with all your heart.

Are there any other athletes in your family?

No, it is only me.

Who discovered you as a setter?