2015 FIVB U20 World Championship - ? / Puerto Rico - 9/11

  • Luxembourg, October 7, 2014. The European qualification pools for the 2015 FIVB U20 Women’s and U21 Men’s World Championships have been confirmed. A total of 22 women’s and 23 men’s national teams from CEV member countries have registered to take part in the competitions.

    This time only two spots in the finals per gender have been allocated to Europe. The European qualification process for these available places will take place in two rounds. The first round is scheduled for January 8 through 11, 2015.

    The gold and silver medalists from the 2014 CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship - Women, Serbia and Slovenia, and from the 2014 CEV U20 Volleyball European Championship - Men, Russia and Poland, will start their campaigns directly from the second round. Six more teams per gender from the first round will eventually join them into the two pools with four teams each, whose winners will book their tickets to the World Championships. The second round will take place from May 14 through 17.

    The 20 women’s teams have been split into five pools of four teams each. The five pool winners and the runner-up with the best record will qualify for the second round. The 21 first-round men’s teams have been divided into six pools – three pools with three teams each and three pools with four teams each. The six pool winners will move on to the decisive battles in the second round. Each of the pools will be played in a three-day round-robin format.

    2015 FIVB U20 Women’s World Championship - European Qualification 1st Round pools:
    Pool A (in Italy): Italy, France, Finland, Norway
    Pool B (in Estonia): Turkey, Greece, Croatia, Estonia
    Pool C (in Romania): Russia, Germany, Romania, Israel
    Pool D (in Poland): Belgium, Poland, Netherlands, Latvia
    Pool E (in Czech Republic): Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Austria, Denmark

  • I have a feeling that Russia and Germany are very often in one pool where are qualifications to something.

    Thanks to CEV the WCH will be more prestigious.

  • Why only two slot for Europe :what: How many teams will be in WCh finals?

  • Greece

    S: Kostantinidou, Papadopoulou, Drakoulidou
    OH: Strantzali, Psoma,Govedarou,Sotiriou
    MB:Kalatantze, Goudimenko, Gianelou, Pateraki
    L: Kokkinaki

  • I think Angelina Sperskaite is a very talented player, 2 years ago in youth team she still played as MB but now as OH. I thought libero Guskova also was supposed to be very talented but now she's only 2nd libero in this team.

  • 2015 FIVB U20 Women Volleyball World Championship - European Qualification.

    Serbia, Slovenia (gold and silver medallists from 2014 CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship – Women), Italy, Turkey, Russia, Poland and Czech Republic (winners of first-round Pools A-B-C-D-E) plus France (second placed team with the best score across all Pools).

    Second qualification round on schedule for May 14-17, 2015 with two tournaments starring four teams each; eventual winners make the Final Round in Cyprus. The composition of the two second-round Pools will be announced in early February.